Wu Fei's Music Daily
Wu Fei's Music Daily
The eighth epic pepper 八大椒
0:00
-4:43

The eighth epic pepper 八大椒

Happy Friday everyone,

Thank you for subscribing to Wu Fei’s Music Daily. This is episode #441 — The eighth epic pepper 八大椒.

This piece was created and recorded yesterday. All instrumental and vocal tracks are performed by me. I used a southern sanxian (Chinese three-string fretless lute) 三弦 for all the plucked string tracks and the percussion part.

It was a very fun experiment for me creating this piece. I just had a silly moment that I wanted to capture: The photo below was taken today, eleven years ago in Prince Gong’s Palace 恭王府 in Beijing. I went to school inside this palace for six years when I was a student at China Conservatory of Music in the 1990s. All my best memories happened there from my youth time.

The palace became a museum in 2006. My school had to move out after being there for decades.

Prince Gong's Mansion is a museum and tourist attraction located in Xicheng District, Beijing, just north of the Shichahai Lake. It consists of large siheyuan-style mansions and gardens. Originally constructed for Heshen, an official highly favoured by the Qianlong Emperor, it was later renamed after Prince Gong, a Manchu prince and influential statesman of the late Qing dynasty, who inhabited the mansion in the late 19th century.

You can read more about Prince Gong’s Palace (or Prince Gong’s Mansion) here, Prince Gong’s Folly, edited by Claire Roberts and my dear friend Geremie Barmé published by China Heritage Project, The Australia National University.

Hope you all are having a wonderful weekend! 周末愉快!

Wu Fei 吴非

Wufeimusic.com

Twitter @wufei

Facebook @realwufeimusic

Instagram @wufeimusic

YouTube @wufeimusic

Returning to Prince Gong’s Palace as a museum for the first time on Oct 21, 2010. It was a sad-sweet visit. Sad to see so many tourists there, and sweet to see the old palace classrooms and concert hall still being there.
Wu Fei's Music Daily
Wu Fei's Music Daily
An original piece of music every weekday from genre-bending composer, guzheng virtuoso, and vocalist Wu Fei. Concerts & tour info on www.wufeimusic.com