Wu Fei's Music Daily
Wu Fei's Music Daily
#943 — Nine full years 九年
4
0:00
-7:32

#943 — Nine full years 九年

A poem - Lost Child
4

Hi everyone,

This piece was created and recorded yesterday February 22, 2024. Nine years ago on this day, my husband and I and our two babies moved to the United State from Beijing, China. Our daughter was two and half years old, and our son was only three months old.

It has been an amazing nine years making Nashville our home. My parents also joined us from China just before the pandemic, and they live here with us now. Ups and downs are inevitable, but all I feel at this stage of my life is grateful. Countless kind people have helped me and my family as colleagues, neighbors, and friends in real life and online. Having an amazing life partner to walk this life together is the best gift I’ve ever received. I want to thank you all for being there with me supporting my music since the beginning of our relationship whether from real life or just as new subscribers since yesterday , paid and free! Thank you.

Lastly, I would like to share my daughter’s poem that was written on February 19 for her school. It is called Lost Child, inspired by another poem called Mother to Son by Langston Hughes.

Lost Child

There are many a lost child in this ever growing world.

Some float about, never to land, others eaten up by sea or by sand.

But some do survive, unsurprisingly so, and they make for themselves a comfortable home.

Those who sprout, grow, show their head, must be careful of those who would hurt them instead.

Those who are lucky continue to grow, and soon their strength will begin to show.

Now settled in their homes, they bring a new generation, to wander the land with new determination.

These children, quite old now, a beautiful age, have started to turn to their very last page.

They dig in their roots, and gazing out to sea, they reflect their beginnings,

a seedling.

A tree.

Wu Fei 吴非

Wufeimusic.com | hellogoldmountain.com

4 Comments
Wu Fei's Music Daily
Wu Fei's Music Daily
An original piece of music every weekday from genre-bending composer, guzheng virtuoso, and vocalist Wu Fei. Concerts & tour info on www.wufeimusic.com