Wu Fei's Music Daily
Wu Fei's Music Daily
Hawk Dance
0:00
-5:29

Hawk Dance

Hi everyone,

This is the 28th episode of Wu Fei’s Music Daily —Hawk Dance.

The inspiration is from a beloved folk melody that I’ve known since childhood. It is called Dance of The Yi People (or Yi Dance) 彝族舞曲 from the Yi people , an ethnic group in China, Vietnam and Thailand.

There have been solo instrumental versions that are based on this melody for the pipa, guzheng, ruan, as well as for Chinese traditional ensembles and orchestras. The instrument I used in this track is the liuqin 柳琴, a pear-shaped 4-string lute. Its size is similar to the mandolin. You can read more about the liuqin here.

It was recorded 3 days ago and I’m finally happy today with the final result. It has been enormously satisfying for me to create music this way on my own. It feels completely liberating. There’s still so much to learn especially on the technical aspect of recording and engineering. However, I am having a blast learning!

Hope you enjoy it!

Wu Fei 吴非

This is the liuqin I played in the recording. My parents shipped a bunch of instruments for me from China when they moved to Nashville from Beijing last summer. It was the best gift for me! I just wish I had more arms and fingers to play them all at the same time like an octopus woman, that would be amazing!

0 Comments
Wu Fei's Music Daily
Wu Fei's Music Daily
An original piece of music every weekday from genre-bending composer, guzheng virtuoso, and vocalist Wu Fei. Concerts & tour info on www.wufeimusic.com