Wu Fei's Music Daily
Wu Fei's Music Daily
Gulibita
0:00
-4:11

Gulibita

Hi everyone,

Thank you for subscribing to Wu Fei’s Music Daily. This is the 58th episode — Gulibita.

It was recorded yesterday.

Instrumentation: guzheng, sanxian, hand drum and vocals all performed and arranged by me. Listen to this track on a headphone if you can.

I knew this song as Why Is The Rose So Red (花儿为什么这样红) from childhood from a famous Chinese movie from 1963, Visitors on the Icy Mountain (冰山上的来客). As far as I can find out, the melody is adapted from a Tajik folk song. Gulibita is a girl’s name in Tajik. It is a love song.

Hope you enjoy it!

Wu Fei 吴非



I learned this song from my father since I had memory. He made this traditional Beijing meat pie 肉饼 last night for us. The song and this dish have been part of my childhood.

Wu Fei's Music Daily
Wu Fei's Music Daily
An original piece of music every weekday from genre-bending composer, guzheng virtuoso, and vocalist Wu Fei. Concerts & tour info on www.wufeimusic.com