Wu Fei's Music Daily
Wu Fei's Music Daily
#574 — The force that drives through the green fuse 青出于蓝
0:00
-6:22

#574 — The force that drives through the green fuse 青出于蓝

I composed this piece yesterday after hiking in the forest. I was amused by the tadpoles in the creek (see photo below). The ripples from the tiny movement from the tadpoles’ tales looked magical under the sunlight and the shadows of the trees. It was meditative to stare at them while listening to the sound of the water floating and the birds. And then I recorded this piece as a Mother’s Day present for my mom. Sending my best wishes to all the mothers and hope you all are starting a refreshing week!

Below is a poem written by Dylan Thomas that I felt connected to this piece:

The force that through the green fuse drives the flower

Dylan Thomas- 1914-1953

The force that through the green fuse drives the flower
Drives my green age; that blasts the roots of trees
Is my destroyer.
And I am dumb to tell the crooked rose
My youth is bent by the same wintry fever.

The force that drives the water through the rocks
Drives my red blood; that dries the mouthing streams
Turns mine to wax.
And I am dumb to mouth unto my veins
How at the mountain spring the same mouth sucks.

The hand that whirls the water in the pool
Stirs the quicksand; that ropes the blowing wind
Hauls my shroud sail.
And I am dumb to tell the hanging man
How of my clay is made the hangman's lime.

The lips of time leech to the fountain head;
Love drips and gathers, but the fallen blood
Shall calm her sores.
And I am dumb to tell a weather's wind
How time has ticked a heaven round the stars.

And I am dumb to tell the lover's tomb
How at my sheet goes the same crooked worm.

Wu Fei 吴非

Wufeimusic.com
Twitter @wufei
Instagram @wufeimusic
YouTube @wufeimusicufei

Wu Fei's Music Daily
Wu Fei's Music Daily
An original piece of music every weekday from genre-bending composer, guzheng virtuoso, and vocalist Wu Fei. Concerts & tour info on www.wufeimusic.com